header image


world schools association logo

The IB Schools of North Carolina are an association of schools authorized by the International Baccalaureate Organization.  

News from IBSNC!

The IB Schools of North Carolina Wynn Cherry Memorial Scholarship honors the memory of Dr. Wynn Cherry, a former International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme Coordinator and President of the IB Schools of North Carolina.  The scholarship also honors the work of six students graduating from IB Programmes who, like Dr. Cherry, demonstrate the utmost commitment to international mindedness, the IB Learner Profile, and the IB Mission.  

After receiving numerous impressive applications from across North Carolina, we are pleased to award six $500 scholarships to:

  • Chloe Edwards, Lee County Senior High School, Sanford
  • Lyndsey Gamble, Page High School, Greensboro
  • Madison Black, Millbrook High School, Raleigh
  • Hope Heinrichs, Hoggard High School, Wilmington
  • Hannah Hulse, Myers Park High School, Charlotte
  • Amritha Pramod, South Iredell High School, Statesville

We are excited by these students’ accomplishments, and we look forward to seeing the numerous ways they will make a positive impact on the future of our world!

2021-2022 IBSNC Grants Awarded

IBSNC was able to award two sets of grants to member schools, in both fall 2021 and spring 2022. Congratulations to the grant recipients below!

Fall Grants:

  • PYP: Treesie Cape, Morganton Day School–Energy Inquiry
  • DP: Christopher Tangredi, Page HIgh School–IB Film Equipment
  • MYP: Caitlin Farr, Winkler Middle School–Personal Fitness

Spring Grants

  • PYP: Joanne Kubera, Coddle Creek Elementary — Augmented Reality Project
  • MYP: Caitlin Farr, Winkler Middle School — Cricket Equipment
  • DP: Bonnie Estes, South Iredell High School — International Festival

Our mission:

As leaders from IB schools in North Carolina, we support IB Programme implementation through networking, advocacy, and grants in order to increase awareness, understanding and recognition of the value of IB Programmes in creating a better, more peaceful world.

IBSNC is a registered 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Contact us at

201 N. McDowell St. #32622

Charlotte, NC  28232  USA

[email protected]